The Senses: Humor

Scene: Muslim bodega, 11 p.m.

The guy in line in front of me had bought a six-pack of Budweiser, so as I plunked my carton of Vanilla Swiss Almond on the counter, I asked the cashier if he wanted to see i.d.

He smiled in bewilderment. “For ice-a cream?”

I chuckled. He chuckled. He thought it about it for a minute.

“Maybe some day,” he mused, as he gave me my change, bagged my purchase, and sent me on my way.

About joshcomix
Brooklyn-based cartoonist specializing in nonfiction comics about topics like Hurricane Katrina, the media, travel, and finance.

5 Responses to The Senses: Humor

  1. benchilada says:

    That’s the sweetest/saddest story I’ve heard in ages.

  2. theremina says:

    Awww, blargh, and also, mmmm. (Vanilla Swiss Almond? Never tried that. Color me epicurious.)

    • 4_eyez says:

      “(Vanilla Swiss Almond? Never tried that. Color me epicurious.)”
      ah, it’s SO good. little chocolate-covered “almonds”

Leave a Reply

